On January 6, the new Puerto Morelos Council took office as the town celebrated the birth of the eleventh municipal district or municipio in Quintana Roo.

The Puerto Morelos municipio stretches from Petempich Bay to Punta Brava in the south and inland to the communities of Central Vallarta and Leona Vicario.