Puerto Morelos becomes the 11th municipio or municipality in Quintana Roo. The motion was approved by the Quintana Roo State Congress and the first Municipal Council will start work on January 6, 2016.

Puerto Morelos was formerly part of the Benito Juarez municipality and Cancun City Hall was responsible for public works in the community. The new Puerto Morelos district will stretch from Petempich Bay to the south and inland to the communities of Central Vallarta and Leona Vicario.